Despite the decrease in volume of liquidity withdrawal of the NBK, the aggregate volume and the share of liquid assets of banks demonstrate the dynamics of growth. Thus, the volume of liquid assets of banking system in July increased by 3.5% (+2.6% ytd) and amounted to T9.9tn, which contributes to 41% of total assets of the banking system. Therefore, disregarding the observed reduction of liquidity withdrawn by the instruments of NBK, banking sector began to significantly increase the volume of correspondent accounts (+T0.65tn, +25% mom, +7% ytd) and cash (+T0.09tn, +16% mom, +8.8% ytd). The growth in correspondent accounts, which are mainly represented by bank’s currency deposits, is largely due to a significant increase in the currency deposits of legal entities in July (+7% mom).

This significant amount of liquidity (T9.9tn of liquid assets on bank balances) is concentrated in the banking system mainly consists of correspondent accounts (32%), debt securities (47%), which are mostly represented by notes of the NBK and from bank deposits in NBK (7%).

Based on this structure, it can be seen that these funds are not involved in lending to the economy, but are used to obtain risk-free income at an equal base rate from the NBK and interest income from correspondent deposits, which are mainly nominated in US dollars. Thus, instead of fulfilling its primary function of redistributing funds in the economy, by making loans and accepting credit risk, banks prefer to receive low risk-free returns on the instruments of the NBK and revenues from the placement of correspondent deposits.

Thus, a significant surplus of liquidity in the banking system is caused on the one hand by a significant write-off of bad loans from banks, on the other hand by imbalance between accumulation and lending. Failure of the banking system to effectively allocate savings efficiently indicates certain structural problems in the economy. These structural problems are based on the commodity orientated economy of Kazakhstan and the lack of development of private business. Thus, Kazakhstan companies cannot show sufficient solvent demand for banks' credit resources due to the lack of sufficient conditions for investment and expansion of their activities. The most profitable companies in the commodity sector, majority of which are controlled by the state, prefer to borrow funds through debt securities and preferential government funds. In these conditions, only the retail sector demonstrates sufficient demand and high profitability corresponding to the credit risk. However, active lending to consumer demand leads to an increase in inflationary pressures on the economy. Therefore the NBK keeps the base rate at the current level, to prevent an even greater transition of excess liquidity to lending to the population.

Gross liquidity withdrawals by the national bank decreased by 7.6% mom (+8.4% ytd) in July and amounted to T4.2tn, which is 31% of the total loan portfolio of the banking system. The volume of issue of notes in July continued to decrease, since June, thus by the end of July the volume of issue of notes was T3.3tn (-T0.32tn, -8.7% mom, +4% ytd). 

In July, there was a growth in lending by 0.93%  (+ 1.9% ytd). Loans of legal entities increased by 0.2% mom (-1.9% ytd). In the retail lending sector, there was an increase of 2.2% mom (+ 8.8% ytd). Consumer lending in July showed a significant decrease of 4% mom (+ 4.7% ytd). The main contribution to the growth of loans for T120bn in July, despite the reduction in consumer loans, was made by lending to the retail sector (+T106bn), with most of these loans issued to the population for other purposes (not mortgages, not consumer loans) and for the purchase of fixed assets (car loans). Restrained growth in lending since the beginning of the year is associated with a significant amount of write-offs amounting to T520bn (T341bn is accounted for by KKB), attributable to TOP-10 banks, according to the financial statements of banks for 6 months. Without these loans, the growth in lending to the economy amounted to 6.3% (+T765bn) from the beginning of the year.

According to official data, the quality of loans in the system has not changed: the share of loans with overdue debts over 90 days in July remained practically unchanged at 8.8% (-0.6pp ytd). The level of provisioning in July decreased by 0.1pp and amounted to 14% (-1.5pp ytd).

In July, deposits increased by 1.7%   (+3.6% ytd). Deposits of legal entities increased by 2.9% mom (+3.7% ytd), deposits of individuals increased slightly by 0.3% mom (+3.5% ytd). The main contribution to the aggregate increase in deposits (+T299bn) was provided by an increase in foreign currency deposits of legal entities by T287bn. It is worth noting that the corresponding increase in foreign currency loans in July was not observed and most likely these deposits served as a source of growth of correspondent accounts of banks.

In July, KZT weakened by 5.75 points against the USD. The weakening of the national currency is observed for four months period. At the same time, the total trading volume on the stock exchange in July was lower than 4.8% in last month, and below the average monthly trading volume since the beginning of the year.

Dollarization of household deposits in July decreased by 0.57pp to 45.6%, dollarization of deposits of legal entities as a result of growth in foreign currency deposits increased by 1.26pp to 43%. The total dollarization of deposits in July was 44.2% (+0.4pp per month). The volume of purchase of US dollars in currency exchange offices increased by 101%. In absolute terms, the volume of purchase by the population of US dollars is $471mn, which is slightly higher than the value in July 2017 ($416mln), but above the maximum in January 2018 ($334.7mn). The growth of US dollar purchases is influenced by the growth of devaluation expectations associated with a significant weakening of the KZT and the possible emergence of a negative shock for the economy of Kazakhstan as a result of the expansion of anti-Russian sanctions.

NIM and NIS showed a decrease in July: NIM 5.18% (-0.26pp), NIS 4.2% (-0.08pp). The growth of banks' net interest margin (NIM) since the beginning of the year amounted to 0.09pp, the growth of the net interest spread (NIS) since the beginning of the year was 0.04pp. The decrease in these figures is explained by the significant write-off of distressed assets and accrued interest income in the framework of the final integration of KKB and Halyk, as well as a reduction in the volume of high-yield consumer loans in July.

In July the profit of banking sector was T47.6bn (T368.8bn ytd). Seven banks showed losses for the month. 

The table in Appendix 2 provides more detailed information on changes in key indicators of each bank.

  • Monetary policy and FX market;
  • Assets of the banking sector, deposits of the banking sector;
  • Loans of the banking sector and credit to economy;
  • Interest rates;
  • Banking sector's liquidity;
  • Banking sector's profitability;
  • Top 10 banks major changes.

Please download the PDF version to access full report with charts and data tables.

Несмотря на снижение объемов изымаемой национальным банком ликвидности совокупный объем, и  доля ликвидных активов банков продолжают демонстрировать динамику роста. Так за июль объем ликвидных активов банковской системы увеличился на 3.5% (+2.6% с начала года) и составил Т9.9трлн, что составляет 41% от итого совокупных активов банковской системы. Таким образом, несмотря на демонстрируемое в июле снижение объемов изымаемой ликвидности посредством инструментов национального банка, банковский сектор начал значительно наращивать объемы корреспондентских счетов (+Т0.65трлн, +25% м/м, +7% с начала года) и наличных денежных средств (+Т0.09трлн, +16% м/м, +8.8% с начала года). Увеличение корреспондентских счетов, которые в основной массе представлены валютными вкладами банков в большей степени связанно со значительным приростом валютных депозитов юридических лиц в июле (+7% м/м).

Данный значительный объем ликвидности (Т9.9трлн ликвидных активов на балансах банков) сконцентрированный в банковской системе в основном состоит из корреспондентских счетов (32%), долговых ценных бумаг (47%), которые в большей части представлены нотами национального банка и из депозитов банков в национальном банке (7%).

Исходя из данной структуры видно, что данные средства не участвуют в кредитовании экономики, а используются для получения безрискового дохода равного базовой ставке со стороны национального банка и процентных доходов от корреспондентских вкладов которые в основном выражены в долларах США. Таким образом, вместо выполнения своей основной функции по перераспределению средств в экономике, осуществляя кредитование и принятие кредитного риска, банки предпочитают получать низкую безрисковую доходность по инструментам национального банка и доходы  по размещению корреспондентских вкладов.

Таким образом, значительный излишек ликвидности в банковской системе вызван с одной стороны значительным списанием проблемных кредитов банков, а с другой дисбалансом между накоплением и кредитованием. Не способность банковской системы в достаточной мере эффективно распределять сбережения указывает на определенные структурные проблемы в экономике. Данные структурные проблемы исходят из сырьевой направленности казахстанской экономики и отсутствия развития частного бизнеса. Так казахстанские компании не могут предъявить достаточный платежеспособный спрос на кредитные ресурсы банков в виду отсутствия достаточных условий для осуществления инвестиций и расширения своей деятельности. Наиболее рентабельные компании в сырьевом секторе, основная часть которых находится под контролем государства, предпочитают заимствовать средства с помощью долговых ценных бумаг и льготных государственных средств. В данных условиях достаточный спрос и высокую доходность соответствующую кредитному риску демонстрирует только розничный сектор. Однако при этом активное кредитование потребительского спроса приводит к росту инфляционного давления на экономику. Именно для недопущения ещё большего перехода излишка ликвидности на кредитование населения национальный банк удерживает базовую ставку на текущем уровне.

Валовые объемы изъятия ликвидности национальным банком за июль уменьшились на 7.6% м/м (+8.4% с начала года)  и составили Т4.2трлн, что составляет 31% от итого ссудного портфеля банковской системы. Объем выпуска нот в июле продолжил снижение, начатое в июне, так на конец июля объем выпущенных нот составил Т3.3трлн (-Т0.32трлн, -8.7% м/м, +4% с начала года).

В июле наблюдается рост кредитования на 0.93%  (+1.9% с начала года). Займы юридических лиц увеличились на 0.2% м/м (-1.9% с начала года). В секторе кредитования физических лиц наблюдался рост на 2.2% м/м (+8.8% с начала года). Потребительское кредитование в июле продемонстрировало значительное снижение на 4% м/м (+4.7% с начала года). Основной вклад в прирост кредитов на Т120млрд в июле, несмотря на сокращение потребительских займов, внесло кредитование розничного сектора (+Т106млрд), при этом большая часть данных кредитов выдано населению на прочие цели (не ипотека, не потребительские) и на приобретение основных фондов (автокредитование). Сдержанный рост кредитования с начала года связан со значительным объемом списаний, приходящийся на ТОП-10 банков по данным финансовых отчетностей банков за 6 месяцев на сумму Т520млрд (Т341млрд приходится на ККБ). Без учета данных займов рост кредитования экономики составил 6.3% (+Т765млрд) с начала года.

Согласно официальным данным, качество кредитов в системе не изменилось: доля займов с просроченной задолженностью свыше 90 дней в июле практически не изменилась и составила 8.8% (-0.6пп с начала года). Уровень провизирования в июле уменьшился на 0.1пп и составил 14% (-1.5пп с начала года).  

В июле наблюдался прирост депозитов на 1.7%   (+3.6% с начала года). Депозиты юридических лиц увеличились на 2.9% м/м (+3.7% с начала года), депозиты физических лиц незначительно увеличились на 0.3% м/м (+3.5% с начала года). Основной вклад в совокупный прирост депозитов (+Т299млрд) оказало увеличение валютных депозитов юридических лиц на Т287млрд. Стоит отметить, что соответствующего прироста валютных кредитов в июле не наблюдалось и вероятней всего данные депозиты послужили источником роста корреспондентских счетов банков.

В июле тенге ослаб на 5.75 тенге по отношению к доллару США. Ослабление национальной валюты наблюдается на протяжении четырех месяцев. При этом совокупный объем торгов на фондовой бирже в июле был ниже значений прошлого месяца на 4.8%, а также ниже среднего месячного объемов торгов с начала года. 

Долларизация депозитов населения в июле снизилась на 0.57пп до 45.6%, долларизация депозитов юридических лиц в результате прироста валютных депозитов возросла  на 1.26пп до 43%. Совокупная долларизация депозитов в июле составила 44.2% (+0.4пп за месяц). Объем покупки долларов США в обменных пунктах возрос на  101%. В абсолютном выражении объём покупки населением долларов США составляет $471млн, что немногим выше значения зафиксированного в июле 2017 года ($416млн), но выше максимума в январе 2018 года ($334.7млн). На рост покупок доллара США, влияет рост девальвационных ожиданий связанный со значительным ослаблением тенге и вероятного возникновения негативного шока для экономики Казахстана в результате расширения антироссийских санкций.

Показатели NIM и NIS в июле продемонстрировали снижение: NIM 5.18% (-0.26пп. м/м), NIS 4.2% (-0.08пп. м/м). Рост процентной маржи банков (NIM) с начала года составил 0.09пп, рост процентного спреда (NIS) с начала года составил 0.04пп. Снижение данных показателей объясняется как значительным списание проблемных активов и начисленных по ним процентных доходов в рамках окончательной интеграции ККБ и Халык, так и сокращением в июле объемов высокодоходных потребительских кредитов. 

В июле прибыль банковского сектора составила Т47.6млрд. (Т368.8млрд. прибыли с начала года). Семь банков завершили месяц с убытком. 

В таблице Приложения 2 дана более детальная информация по изменению ключевых показателей каждого банка. 

  • Денежно-кредитная политика и валютный рынок;
  • Активы банковского сектора, депозиты банковского сектора;
  • Кредиты банковского сектора и кредит экономике;
  • Процентные ставки;
  • Ликвидность банковского сектора;
  • Доходность банковского сектора;
  • Основные изменения ТОП-10 банков.

Для доступа к таблицам и графикам скачайте PDF-версию отчета.