Gross liquidity withdrawals by the national bank remained unchanged in June and amounted to T4.5tn, which is 33% of the total loan portfolio of the banking system. This amount of excess liquidity continues to be maintained in the banking system from the beginning of 2018. The national bank sterilizes the main part of this liquidity by issuing short-term notes. The volume of issue of notes in June was T3.65tn having decreased for a month by 9%, but in comparison with the beginning of the year the volume of notes in circulation increased by 14%.

It should be noted that, despite the gradual decrease in the base rate, the volume of notes held by banks is not reduced. The program of financial assistance to the banking sector and elimination of Kazkommertsbank's problems last year also contributed to the growth of excess liquidity. This significant volume of liquid assets is not transformed into expanding lending to the economy. The most likely obstacle to this is the lack of real solvent credit projects due to structural problems in the economy.

Now a significant demand for credit resources is being created by the population, which is reflected in the growth of unsecured consumer lending. The banks' implementation of this high-yield lending allows maintaining a profit margin at an acceptable level, allowing the gradual drop in yields on the notes of the NBK to smoothen.

Further rapid decline in the base rate without overcoming structural problems in the economy can lead to an even more significant growth in consumer lending, crediting of doubtful projects and the movement of free funds to the foreign exchange market, which in turn will lead to an increase in the exchange rate, problem debt, pressure on inflation and import. In addition, the implementation of significant public investments and direct support programs of certain sectors of the economy for state-subsidized non-market rates displaces the demand for standard bank loans from the business, leading to a distortion of the credit mechanism.

The deterioration of the financial condition of the three problem banks (Qazaq banki, Bank of Astana, Eximbank) continued. These banks in June again committed violations of prudential liquidity standards. The Bank of Astana in June commited a violation of K2 capital adequacy ratio as a result of a loss of T11.6bn accumulated since the beginning of the year. In the Bank of Astana and Eximbank, there is a gradual recognition of bad debts. According to the NBK, in June the level of bad debts in the Bank of Astana was 21.6%, in Eximbank - 44.2% of the total loan portfolio. It should be noted that, despite the fact that these banks cannot service their obligations, decision to terminate their activities has not yet been taken.

In June, there was a slight increase in lending by 0.91% (+0.99% since the beginning of the year). Loans of legal entities increased by 0.3% mom (-2% since the beginning of the year). In the retail lending sector there was an increase of 1.9% mom (+6.4% since the beginning of the year). Consumer lending continues to show growth, in June the increase was 2.4% mom (+6.4% since the beginning of the year).

According to official data, the quality of loans in the system has improved: the share of loans with arrears over 90 days decreased by 0.3pp in a month and amounted to 8.8% (-0.6pp since the beginning of the year). The level of provisioning in June decreased by 0.5pp and amounted to 14.04% (-1.6pp from the beginning of the year).

In June, there was a significant increase in deposits by 3.6% (+1.9% since the beginning of the year). Deposits of legal entities increased by 4.2% mom (+0.8% since the beginning of the year), deposits of individuals increased by 3% mom (+3.2% from the beginning of the year). It is worth noting that the growth of deposits in June blocked the decline in corporate and aggregate deposits of the banking sector observed since the beginning of the year.

In June, the tenge weakened by 10.64 tenge against the US dollar. This weakening occurs against the general small volume of trading compared to the average from the beginning of the year volume of trading on the foreign exchange market.

Despite the weakening of the tenge, the de-dollarization of deposits continued. So, the dollarization of household deposits in June decreased by 1.64pp to 47.8%, dollarization of corporate deposits decreased by 1.87pp to 43.6%. The total dollarization of deposits in June was 43.8% (-1.8pp per month). At the same time, the purchase volume of US dollars in exchange offices increased by 129%. In absolute terms, the volume of purchase by the population of US dollars is $234mn, which is much lower than the values recorded in 2017 ($316mn in June 2017) and below the maximum of January 2018 ($334.7mn). The growth of purchases of the US dollar in addition to the growth of devaluation expectations is heavily influenced by the factor of seasonality.

NIM and NIS indicators continued to show multidirectional dynamics in June: NIM 5.44% (+0.02pp mom), NIS 4.28% (-0.01pp mom). The growth of banks' interest margin (NIM) since the beginning of the year amounted to 0.35pp, the growth of the interest spread (NIS) amounted to 0.12pp since the beginning of the year.

The growth of these indicators primarily reflects the gradual reduction in deposit rates. At the same time, the reduction in deposit rates is stronger than for loans. So the spread between the average interest rate on loans to the population and the average rate on household deposits in June is 9.1pp (9.4pp in May), since the beginning of the year this spread has increased by 0.6pp from 8.5pp (6.2pp at the beginning of 2016). Spread at the rates of legal entities is highly volatile, but in general, it is approximately at stable levels since the beginning of the year.

In June, the banking sector recorded a loss of T6.9bn (T321.2bn profit from the beginning of the year). This negative result is almost entirely connected with the loss of KKB at T44.8bn recorded in June, most likely this loss is related to the accelerated clearing of the loan portfolio at the threshold of the merger with Halyk Bank. Excluding KKB, the banking sector's profit for June was T38bn, Which is 21% more than last month's results and 0.5% less than last year's results for the same period, also not taking KKB into account.

The table in Appendix 2 provides more detailed information on changes in key indicators of each bank.

  • Monetary policy and FX market;
  • Assets of the banking sector, deposits of the banking sector;
  • Loans of the banking sector and credit to economy;
  • Interest rates;
  • Banking sector's liquidity;
  • Banking sector's profitability;
  • Top 10 banks major changes.

Please download the PDF version to access full report with charts and data tables.

Валовые объемы изъятия ликвидности национальным банком за июнь не изменились и составили Т4.5трлн, что составляет 33% от итого ссудного портфеля банковской системы. Данный объем избыточной ликвидности продолжает сохраняться в банковской системе с начала 2018 года. Основную часть данной ликвидности национальный банк стерилизует с помощью выпуска краткосрочных нот. Объем выпуска нот в июне составил Т3.65трлн. снизившись за месяц на 9%, но по сравнению с началом года объем нот в обращении вырос на 14%.

При этом следует заметить, что, несмотря на постепенное снижение базовой ставки, объем нот, удерживаемых банками, не снижается. Росту избытка ликвидности также способствовала программа финансовой помощи банковскому сектору и устранение проблем Казкоммерцбанка в прошлом году. Данный значительный объем ликвидных активов не трансформируется в расширение кредитования экономики. Препятствием этому, скорее всего, продолжает выступать отсутствие реальных платежеспособных кредитных проектов ввиду наличия структурных проблем в экономике.

На данный момент значительный спрос на кредитные ресурсы предъявляет население, что выражается в росте необеспеченного потребительского кредитования. Осуществление банками данного высокодоходного кредитования позволяет поддерживать маржу доходности на приемлемом уровне, позволяя сглаживать постепенное падение доходностей по нотам НБРК.

Дальнейшее быстрое снижение базовой ставки без преодоления структурных проблем в экономике может привести к еще более значительному росту потребительского кредитования, кредитованию сомнительных проектов и перемещение свободных средств на валютный рынок, что в свою очередь будет приводить к росту обменного курса, проблемной задолженности,  давлению на инфляцию и импорт. Также осуществление значительных государственных инвестиций и программ прямой поддержки определенных секторов экономики по субсидируемым государством нерыночным ставкам вытесняет спрос на стандартные банковские кредиты со стороны бизнеса, приводя к искажению кредитного механизма.

Ухудшение финансового состояния трех проблемных банков (Qazaq banki, Банк Астаны, Эксимбанк) продолжилось. Данные банки в июне вновь допустили нарушения пруденциальных нормативов ликвидности.  Банк Астаны в июне допустил нарушение по показателю достаточности капитала К2 в результате накопленного с начала года убытка на Т11.6млрд. В Банке Астаны и Эксимбанке наблюдается постепенное признание проблемных долгов. Согласно данным НБРК, в июне уровень проблемных долгов  в Банке Астаны составил 21.6%, в Эксимбанке – 44.2% от итого ссудного портфеля. Стоит отметить, что, несмотря на то, что данные банки не могут обслуживать свои обязательства, решения по прекращению их деятельности до сих пор не принято.

В июне наблюдался небольшой рост кредитования на 0.91%  (+0.99% с начала года). Займы юридических лиц увеличились на 0.3% м/м (-2% с начала года). В секторе кредитования физических лиц наблюдался рост на 1.9% м/м (+6.4% с начала года). Потребительское кредитование продолжает демонстрировать рост, за июнь увеличение составило 2.4% м/м (+6.4% с начала года). 

Согласно официальным данным, качество кредитов в системе улучшилось: доля займов с просроченной задолженностью свыше 90 дней уменьшилась за месяц на 0.3пп и составила 8.8% (-0.6пп с начала года). Уровень провизирования в июне уменьшился на 0.5пп и составил 14.04% (-1.6пп с начала года). 

В июне наблюдался значительный прирост депозитов на 3.6%  (+1.9% с начала года). Депозиты юридических лиц увеличились на 4.2% м/м (+0.8% с начала года), депозиты физических лиц увеличились на 3% м/м (+3.2% с начала года). Стоит отметить, что рост депозитов в июне перекрыл наблюдавшееся с начала года снижение корпоративных и совокупных депозитов банковского сектора.

В июне тенге ослаб на 10.64 тенге по отношению к доллару США. Данное ослабление происходит на фоне общих небольших относительно среднего с начала года объёмов торгов на валютном рынке.

Несмотря на ослабление тенге, продолжилась дедолларизация депозитов. Так, долларизация депозитов населения в июне снизилась на 1.64пп до 47.8%, долларизация депозитов юридических лиц сократилась на 1.87пп до 43.6%. Совокупная долларизация депозитов в июне составила 43.8% (-1.8пп за месяц). При этом объем покупки долларов США в обменных пунктах возрос на  129%. В абсолютном выражении объём покупки населением долларов США составляет $234млн, что гораздо ниже значений, зафиксированных в 2017 году ($316млн в июне 2017 года) и ниже максимума в январе 2018 года ($334.7млн). На рост покупок доллара США, помимо роста девальвационных ожиданий, большое влияние оказывает фактор сезонности.

Показатели NIM и NIS в июне продолжили демонстрировать разнонаправленную динамику: NIM 5.44% (+0.02пп. м/м), NIS 4.28% (-0.01пп. м/м). Рост процентной маржи банков (NIM) с начала года составил 0.35пп, рост процентного спреда (NIS) с начала года составил 0.12пп.

Рост данных показателей в первую очередь отражает постепенное снижение ставок по депозитам. При этом снижение ставок по депозитам происходит сильнее, нежели по кредитам. Так, спред между средней ставкой по кредитам населению и средней ставкой по депозитам населения в июне составляет 9.1пп (9.4пп в мае), с начала года данный спред возрос на 0.6пп с 8.5пп (6.2пп на начало 2016 года). Спред по ставкам юридических лиц отличается высокой волатильностью, но в целом находится примерно на стабильных уровнях с начала года.

В июне в банковском секторе зафиксирован убыток в размере Т6.9млрд. (Т321.2млрд. прибыли с начала года). Данный отрицательный результат  практически полностью связан с убытком ККБ на Т44.8млрд, зафиксированным в июне, скорее всего данный убыток связан с ускоренной расчисткой ссудного портфеля в преддверии слияния с Halyk Bank. Без учета ККБ прибыль банковского сектора за июнь составила Т38млрд., что на 21% больше результатов прошлого месяца и на 0.5% меньше результатов прошлого года за аналогичный период также без учета ККБ. 

В таблице Приложения 2 дана более детальная информация по изменению ключевых показателей каждого банка.

  • Денежно-кредитная политика и валютный рынок;
  • Активы банковского сектора, депозиты банковского сектора;
  • Кредиты банковского сектора и кредит экономике;
  • Процентные ставки;
  • Ликвидность банковского сектора;
  • Доходность банковского сектора;
  • Основные изменения ТОП-10 банков.

Для доступа к таблицам и графикам скачайте PDF-версию отчета.