Polymetal: Review of 1Q2018 results

Buy recommendation with 12M TP at 735 GBp/share

Andrey KozhokaruJune 08, 2018

We attribute a decline in the value of Polymetal's shares to the US sanctions announced in April against a number of Russian individuals and companies. Despite the fact that Polymetal itself did not come under sanctions, following a conservative approach, we took into account the potential increase in the cost of capital for the Company, believing that the restrictions imposed by the US entail a reassessment of the risk associated with investments in all Russian assets. The latter also prompted us to reduce the long-term growth of the issuer to 2.5% (3.5% previously). Another reason for adjusting our 12M TP is a strong rise in oil prices, which, despite weakening correlation between oil and RUB, will put pressure on the Company’s margins. Taking into account the additional issue of Polymetal’s shares, our 12M TP is 735 GBp/share. We see a positive impetus for the business from launching and reaching the design capacity at Kyzyl (about 18% of the total production by 2020). We recommend to Buy Polymetal shares.

Potential sanctions on Polymetal. At the moment, we do not see any reasons for the US to impose sanctions on the Company’s management or on Polymetal itself. Meanwhile, a significant debt level of 1.5bn USD (total debt/capital – 1.1) and the need to finance growth projects (Nezhda and 2nd Amursk POX) make Polymetal dependent on the availability/cost of funds in foreign currency, which tend to rise in case of unfavorable market conditions.

Medium-term implications for the business. As noted in previous reports, the Company benefits from the depreciation of the Russian currency and the rise in gold prices, which both may occur due to the aggravation of the geopolitical tensions and the deterioration of the Russian economy. The sanctions imposed by the United States contribute to these conditions. On April 9, with a general decline in the Russian stock market (RTS index fell 11.4%), the ruble weakened against the US dollar by 4.3% to 60.65 USDRUB (USDRUB 62.4 at the moment). We believe that the market will initially include a higher risk premium in the Company’s price for the announced sanctions and only over time will take into account the effect of depreciation of the RUB (if it will be sustained) on Polymetal's financial results.

The sharp increase in oil price and higher operating expenses. With a direct extrapolation of the interrelations of the Company's operating expenses, an increase in oil price by 20% can be compensated by a 7.5% devaluation of RUB, KZT (not taking into account that the historical correlation and fundamental reasons assume strengthening of RUB with oil price growth). The price of oil for 5M2018 increased to 69.2 USD/barrel (+27% y/y), over the same period USDRUB was 58.8 (+1.6% y/y). Due to higher operating expenses and despite the anticipated increase in production (+6% y/y), we expect Polymetal's total cash costs in 2018 to approach the upper limit of the range forecasted by the Company at 925 USD/oz. We also expect the EBITDA margin for 2018 to amount 40% against 41% in 2017 and 43% in our previous forecast.

A decrease in 12M TP from 850 to 735 GBp/share, Buy recommendation. As of December 31, 2017, with a total debt in excess of 1.4bn USD, 57% of borrowings had a floating interest rate. We took into account the possible increase in the cost of debt and equity financing for Polymetal. In the base scenario, we expect the launch of Nezhda and 2nd Amursk POX, which will be reflected in higher capital expenditures in 2019-2022 and in the growth of production from 2021 onwards.

Other reports

Полиметалл: Обзор результатов за 1кв2018г.

Рекомендация "Покупать" с 12М ЦЦ 735 GBp/акция

Андрей Кожокару08 Июня 2018

Мы связываем значительное снижение стоимости акций Полиметалла с объявленными в апреле санкциями США против ряда российских граждан и компаний. Несмотря на то, что сам Полиметалл не попал под санкции, придерживаясь консервативного подхода, мы учли потенциальный рост стоимости капитала для Компании, считая, что введённые американской стороной ограничения влекут некоторую переоценку риска инвестиций во все российские активы. Последнее также побудило нас снизить долгосрочный рост эмитента до 2,5% (3,5% ранее). Другой причиной корректировки нашей 12М ЦЦ является сильный рост цен на нефть, что, несмотря на ослабление корреляции с RUB окажет давление на рентабельность. С учётом дополнительной эмиссии акций Полиметалла, наша 12М ЦЦ равна 735 GBp/акция. Мы видим позитивный импульс для бизнеса в запуске и последующем выходе на проектную мощность проекта Кызыл (около 18% от общего объёма производства к 2020г). Мы рекомендуем Покупать акции Полиметалла. 

Потенциальное применение санкций к Полиметаллу. На данный момент мы не видим явных причин у США для принятия санкций против управляющего менеджмента или самой Компании. Между тем, существенный уровень долга на уровне около 1,5млрд USD (Общий долг/капитал – 1,1) и необходимость финансирования проектов роста (Нежданинское и 2-ой Амурский ГМК), делают Полиметалл зависимым от доступности/стоимости валютного фондирования, которое будет дорожать при неблагоприятной рыночной конъюнктуре.

Последствия для бизнеса в среднесрочной перспективе. Мы отмечали в наших предыдущих отчётах, что Компания выигрывает от обесценения российской валюты и роста цен на золото, что может происходить при обострении геополитической обстановке и ухудшении состояния российской экономики. Введённые США санкции               способствуют упомянутым условиям. 9 апреля при общем снижении фондового рынка РФ (индекс РТС снизился на 11,4%), рубль ослаб относительно американского доллара на 4,3% до 60,65 USDRUB (USDRUB 62,4 на данный момент). Между тем, мы считаем, что первоначально рынок будет закладывать повышенную премию за риск в стоимость Компании в связи с объявленными санкциями и лишь с течением времени будет учитывать эффект от обесценения рубля (в случае его сохранения) на финансовые результаты Полиметалла.

Резкий рост нефтяных котировок и увеличение операционных затрат. При прямой экстраполяции соотношения операционных расходов Компании, увеличение стоимости нефти на 20% может быть купировано обесценением RUB, KZT на 7,5% (не учитывая, что историческая корреляция предполагает укрепление RUB при росте цен на нефть). Цена на нефть за 5М2018г. увеличилась до 69,2 USD/баррель (+27% г/г), за тот же период курс USDRUB составил 58,8 (+1,6% г/г). Вследствие роста операционных расходов и несмотря на предполагаемый рост производства (+6% г/г), мы ожидаем, что совокупные денежные затраты Полиметалла в 2018г. приблизится к верхней границе диапазона, прогнозируемого Компанией на уровне 925 USD/oz. Мы также ожидаем, что рентабельность по EBITDA за 2018г. составит 40% против 41% в 2017г. и 43% в нашем предыдущем прогнозе.

Снижение целевой цены с 850 до 735 GBp/акция, рекомендация Покупать. По данным на 31 декабря 2017г, при общем долге, превышающем 1,4млрд USD, 57% заимствований имели плавающую процентную ставку вознаграждения. Мы учли возможное удорожание стоимости долгового и акционерного финансирования Полиметалла. В базовом сценарии, мы учли запуск проектов Нежданинского и 2-го Амурского ГМК, что отразилось в увеличении прогнозируемых капитальных затрат в 2019-2022гг. и производственных показателей с 2021г.

Другие отчеты