KAZ Minerals: Review of 2017 operating results

"Hold" recommendation with 12M TP of 865GBp/share

Andrey KozhokaruFebruary 09, 2018

KAZ Minerals has fulfilled its annual forecast for 2017, increasing copper production by 80% y/y. Meanwhile, the phase of exponential growth of production, which began with the launch of Bozshakol and Aktogay, is coming to an end. With a conservative approach and adjusting the copper production forecast for Bozshakol, we expect the average annual growth of KAZ Minerals production to be slightly below 5% y/y in the period of 2018-2021. After the construction of the 2nd sulphide factory at Aktogay, we expect that the total volume of copper produced by KAZ Minerals will exceed 370kt per year in 2022. Despite the necessary investments in the project at 1.2bn USD, the Net debt/EBITDA ratio, according to our estimates, will not exceed 2x on the forecasted horizon, and the Company will continue to reduce the debt burden, but at a slower pace. The price of copper will continue to remain the main driver of KAZ Minerals shares. Given the risk associated with a possible correction in the price of copper to the current consensus forecast for 2018 (6 620USD per ton), we maintain Hold recommendation on KAZ Minerals with a 12M TP of 865GBp.

Operating results and forecasts. In2017 Bozshakol produced 101kt of copper, which is on the lower boundary of the Company's forecast of 100-110kt. The Company provided weak forecasts on the grades (0.44%) and copper production (100kt) at Bozshakol for 2018. The presented forecast was the result of a forced change in production sequence, which assumes processing of a lower grade ore. Our previous forecast for copper production in 2018 at Bozshakol was at the level of 115kt (current forecast 101kt), which corresponds to a decrease by 5% from the previously anticipated total annual production of KAZ Minerals. An important factor will be the need to adjust production forecasts for Bozshakol after 2018. We maintain our current forecast for 2018 at 104kt of copper production at Aktogay unchanged, taking into account expectations for the achievement of 100% design capacity in 2018 from 68% in 4Q2017.

Price of copper as the main source of risk and support. The observed bull rally in the base metals market has a fundamental support from the sustainable demand, expressed by strong macroeconomic indicators of leading economies and a supply shortage, mainly provided by a reduction in capital investments during low prices and depletion of operating mines. Moreover, the potential instability of supply in the copper market comes from possible strikes in Chile and Peru in 2018. According to the expectations of market participants, 2018 will be one of the most saturated years for negotiations between labor unions and management of mining companies on the renewal of labor contracts. Meanwhile, the current positive expectations provide the risk of a sharp decline in prices in the event of a change in a market sentiment, which may occur with a slowdown in economic activity or with an unexpected increase in supply in the copper market. According to market data, as of January 30, 2017, the number of net long speculative positions for copper exceeded the average for the last 3 years by more than two times.

12M TP 865GBp per share, Hold recommendation. We include into our production forecasts for 2018-2019 some risks associated with Aktogay’s achievement of 100% design throughput and with a decrease in grades at Bozshakol. Meanwhile, considering the average price of KAZ Minerals for the last 12 months at 508GBp/share, we believe that our 12M TP correctly reflects the growth in the Company's production and given consensus expectations for metals market.

Other reports

KAZ Minerals: Обзор операционных результатов за 2017г.

Рекомендация "Держать" с 12М ЦЦ 865GBp/акция

Андрей Кожокару09 Февраля 2018

KAZ Minerals оправдала свой годовой прогноз на 2017г, увеличив производство меди на 80% г/г. Между тем, фаза экспоненциального роста добычи, начавшаяся с запуском Бозшаколя и Актогая, подходит к завершению. При консервативном подходе и корректировке прогноза добычи меди на Бозшаколе, мы ожидаем средний ежегодный рост производства KAZ Minerals на уровне чуть ниже 5% г/г в период 2018-2021гг. После строительства 2-ой сульфидной фабрики на Актогае, мы рассчитываем, что общий объём производимой KAZ Minerals меди превысит 370тыс тонн в год в 2022г. Несмотря на необходимые инвестиции в проект в размере 1,2млрд USD, отношение Чистый долг/EBITDA, по нашей оценке, не превысит 2х на прогнозируемом горизонте, и Компания продолжит сокращать долговую нагрузку, но гораздо медленнее, чем ранее. Основным драйвером стоимости KAZ Minerals продолжит оставаться цена на медь. Учитывая риск, связанный с возможной коррекцией цены на медь до текущего консенсус прогноза на 2018г (6 620USD за тонну), мы сохраняем рекомендацию Держать акции KAZMineralsс 12М ЦЦ 865GBp

Операционные результаты и прогнозы. По результатам 2017г. на Бозшаколе было произведено 101тыс тонн меди, что находится на нижней границе прогноза Компании в диапазоне 100-110тыс тонн. Между тем, Компания дала слабый прогноз по уровням содержания (0,44%) и производства меди (100тыс тонн) на Бозшаколе на 2018г. Представленный прогноз стал результатом вынужденного изменения последовательности добычи, которое предполагает переработку руды с более низким содержанием. Ранее наш прогноз производства меди на 2018г. на Бозшаколе был на уровне 115тыс тонн (текущий прогноз 101тыс тонн), что означает снижение примерно на 5% от предполагаемого ранее годового производства KAZ Minerals. Важным фактором будет являться наличие необходимости корректировки прогнозов производства на Бозшаколе после 2018г. Мы сохраняем наш текущий прогноз на 2018г. по производству меди на Актогае на уровне 104тыс тонн без изменений, принимая во внимание ожидания по достижению 100% пропускной способности ГОКа в 2018г. с 68% в 4кв2017г.

Цены на медь, как основная поддержка и источник риска. Наблюдаемое бычье раллина рынке базового металла имеет фундаментальную поддержку со стороны устойчивого спроса, выраженного растущими макроэкономическими индикаторами ведущих экономик и недостатком предложения, в основном, обеспеченного сокращением инвестиций в период низких цен и органическим истощением действующих рудников. Также потенциальная нестабильность предложения на рынке меди происходит от возможных забастовок в Чили и Перу в 2018г. По ожиданиям участников рынка, 2018г. будет являться одним из самых насыщенных на переговоры профсоюзов с руководством добывающих компаний о перезаключении трудовых контрактов. Между тем, текущий позитивный настрой таит в себе риск резкого снижения цены в случае изменения рыночных настроений, что может произойти при замедление экономического роста или при неожиданном увеличении предложения на рынке меди. По рыночным данным, на 30 января 2017г количество открытых нетто спекулятивных позиций по меди превышало среднее значение за последние 3 года более чем в два раза.

Целевая цена 865GBp за акцию, рекомендация Держать. Мы закладываем в наши производственные прогнозы на 2018-2019гг. некоторые риски, связанные с выходом Актогая на 100% пропускной способности и со снижением содержания меди в перерабатываемой руде на Бозшаколе. Между тем, учитывая среднюю цену KAZ Minerals за последние 12 месяцев на уровне 508GBp, мы считаем, что наша 12М ЦЦ справедливо отражает рост производства Компании, при сохранении текущего консенсус прогноза по рынкам реализуемых металлов.

Другие отчеты