The oil sector played significant role in the improvement of State budget in 2017

Assan Kurmanbekov, Murat TemirkhanovFebruary 08, 2018

The oil sector has provided a crucial support to the consolidated budget of the country (which include National Fund) in 2017 – oil revenues increased by 60% while their share in revenues has increased to 30%. Against this background, growth in non-oil taxes by 11%, confirms the growing dependence of the consolidated budget on oil revenues.

The non-oil deficit of the Republican budget by our assessment amounted to 12.9% of GDP in 2017 and gone far beyond the limit outlined in the new concept of the National Fund, where the level of non-oil deficit of the Republican budget is indicated at not higher than 9.3% of GDP. Thus, under the pretext of emergency one-time support for the financial sector it was allowed to breach  obligations on savings of National Fund.

A gradual reduction in the guaranteed transfer to the Republican budget is of concern, that could potentially lead to a reduction in economic activity in the face of still fragile state of the economy. This, in turn, could force the government to back away from plans of budgetary consolidation and thereby impede the process of public finances balancing.

 Безt_original.png

To access the full report please download pdf.

Other reports

Нефтяной сектор повлиял на улучшение состояния госбюджета страны в 2017 году

Нефтяной сектор обеспечил решающую поддержку консолидированному бюджету страны (включающему движение средств по Нацфонду) в 2017 году – нефтяные доходы повысились на 60%, а их доля в доходах возросла до 30%. На этом фоне рост ненефтяных налогов на 11%, подтверждает тенденцию к росту зависимости консолидированного бюджета от нефтяных доходов.

Ненефтяной дефицит республиканского бюджета по нашей оценке, в 2017 году равнялся 12,9% от ВВП и ушел далеко за рамки предусмотренные новой концепцией Нацфонда, где указывался уровень ненефтяного дефицита республиканского бюджета не выше 9,3% от ВВП. Таким образом под предлогом чрезвычайной разовой поддержки финансового сектора допускается нарушение обязательств по сохранности сбережений Нацфонда.

Вызывает озабоченность постепенное снижение гарантированных трансфертов в республиканский бюджет, что может привести к снижению экономической активности в условиях пока еще неустойчивого состояния экономики. Это в свою очередь, может вынудить правительство отойти от планов консолидации бюджетных расходов и тем самым затруднит процесс балансирования госфинансов.

 Без_original.png

Для доступа к графикам и таблицам, скачайте PDF-версию.