Kazakhtelecom: Review of 9M2017 results

"Hold" recommendation with 12M TP of 23 739KZT per share

Andrey KozhokaruJanuary 31, 2018

The reduction of the loss in Tele2-Altel JV and the increase in revenues while controlling costs, allowed Kazakhtelecom to demonstrate strong financial results for 9M2017, achieving EBITDA margin of 43% versus the average of 35% for 2014-2016. Meanwhile, we expect a restrained growth of Kazakhtelecom's revenues (without the consolidation of the JV) at the rate not exceeding 4% y/y for the forecasted horizon, while EBITDA margin will remain slightly below 35%. Taking into account the strategic plans of the Company to expand its presence in perspective market segments, while maintaining a dominant position in broadband (72%) and fixed-line (93.3%), we think that Kazakhtelecom’s main sources of revenue have limited potential, while an increase in the presence in segments with a growth reserves will not provide considerable effects on the income in the short term. The main medium-term growth driver for the Operator will be Tele2-Altel JV. In our opinion, the current price of KZTK is close to its fair value. Our recommendation is Hold, with 12M TP of 23 739KZT per share.

Profit of the Joint Venture and the excess of EBITDA over CAPEX in 2018. Due to the fairly fast achievement of costs synergy and integration of business processes, in 3Q2017 Tele2-Altel JV reported a profit of 640mn KZT, completing a series of continuing losses since inception. Remaining the leader in 4G coverage and using an extensive infrastructure of Kazakhtelecom, JV has increased its subscriber base from the moment of the establishment by 8.5% to 6.83mn according to 3Q2017 data, taking over 26% of the market. According to the development strategy of Kazakhtelecom, presented in 2016, the Operator sets an ambitious goal for the JV to have 33% of the market share by 2025. In the medium term, the EBITDA margin is expected to be around 30%. According to Tele2 AB forecasts, the EBITDA margin improvement from 19% in 1Q2017 up to this level will be provided by 5% increase in the gross margin and optimization of other expenses by 6%. Meanwhile, we believe that a further increase in the capitalization of KZTK due to the Joint Venture is possible only with the generation of a nominally significant free cash flows by the latter, which is not expected in the next 12 months.  

Core revenues without growth drivers. Having a monopolistic position in a number of market segments, Kazakhtelecom falls under antitrust regulations, which limits market pricing power and places a social burden on the Company (the development of telecommunications in rural areas). The broadband segment, which is the main source of revenue for Kazakhtelecom (52.3% for 9M2017) is close to saturation in large cities and has a lower profitability in rural areas. The landline phone segment representing 24.2% of the Company's revenue for 9M2017 is contracting. Despite the absence of direct competitors in the fixed-line telephony market, this segment, like the broadband, is experiencing intense competition from mobile communications and 4G internet.                    

Target price 23 739 KZT per share, Hold recommendation. Shares of KZTK rose by 40% since July 2017 and, according to our estimates, the current price fairly reflects the improvement of macroeconomic indicators of the economy of Kazakhstan, good financial results of the Company and the potential growth in revenues of the Joint Venture.  The Company's strategic plans for 2025, of increasing its presence in a number of growing market segments and maintaining dominant positions in segments related to the Operator's core business, do not imply extensive expansion that would be capable to significantly increase growth rates of revenues. We recommend to Hold KZTK, with 12M TP of 23 739 KZT/share.

Other reports

Казахтелеком: Обзор результатов за 9М2017г.

Рекомендация "Держать" с 12М ЦЦ 23 739 KZT за акцию

Андрей Кожокару31 Января 2018

Сокращение доли убытка в СП Теле2-Алтел и наращивание выручки при сдерживании расходов, позволили Казахтелекому показать сильные финансовые результаты за 9М2017г, достигнув рентабельности по EBITDA в 43% против среднего показателя в 35% за 2014-2016гг. Между тем, мы ожидаем сдержанный рост доходов Казахтелекома (без консолидации мобильного подразделения), не превышающий 4% г/г на прогнозируемом горизонте, при сохранении показателей рентабельности по EBITDA на уровне чуть ниже 35%. Принимая во внимание стратегические планы Казахтелекома по наращиванию присутствия в перспективных сегментах рынка, сохраняя при этом доминирующее положение на рынках фиксированного интернета (72%) и телефонии (93.3%), мы считаем, что основные источники дохода Компании имеют ограниченный потенциал, в то время как наращивание присутствия в направлениях, имеющих запас роста, не окажет существенного эффекта на доходы в ближайшей перспективе. Основным драйвером роста для Оператора в среднесрочной перспективе будет являться СП Теле2-Алтел. По нашему мнению, текущая цена Казахтелекома близка к справедливой стоимости. Наша рекомендация Держать, 12М ЦЦ 23 739KZT за акцию.         

Выход СП на прибыль и превышение EBITDA над CAPEX в 2018г. За счёт достаточно быстрой синергии затрат и интеграции бизнес процессов, в 3кв2017г. СП Теле2-Алтел впервые продемонстрировало прибыль в 640млн KZT, завершив череду продолжающихся убытков с момента создания. Оставаясь лидером по покрытию 4G сетями и имея обширную инфраструктуру Казахтелекома, СП Теле2-Алтел увеличило абонентскую базу с момента учреждения на 8.5% до 6.83млн по данным за 3кв2017г, заняв 26% рынка. По стратегии развития Казахтелекома, представленной в 2016г, оператор ставит амбициозную цель для СП о достижении к 2025г. 33% рыночной доли. В среднесрочной перспективе рентабельность СП по EBITDA ожидается на уровне 30%. По прогнозам Теле2 AB, улучшение показателя рентабельности по EBITDA с 19% в 1кв2017г. до указанного уровня будет обеспеченно расширением гросс рентабельности- на 5% и оптимизацией прочих расходов- на 6%. Между тем, мы считаем, что дальнейшее увеличение капитализации KZTK за счёт СП, возможно лишь при генерации Теле2-Алтел номинально значительного свободного денежного потока, что не ожидается в следующие 12 месяцев.   

Основные доходы без драйверов роста. Имея монополистическое положение в ряде рыночных сегментов телекоммуникаций, Компания попадает под монопольное регулирование, что ограничивает рыночное ценообразование на услуги и возлагает на Казахтелеком социальную нагрузку (развитие телекоммуникаций в сельской местности). Сегмент ШПД (фиксированный интернет) генерирующий основной доход Казахтелекома (52.3% за 9М2017г) близок к насыщению в крупных городах и имеет низкую рентабельность при развитии в сельской местности. Трендом в сегменте телефонной связи представляющем 24.2% от дохода Компании за 9М2017г. является сокращение. Несмотря на отсутствие прямых конкурентов у Казахтелекома на рынке фиксированной телефонии, данный сегмент, как и ШПД испытывает острую конкуренцию со стороны мобильной связи и 4G интернета.                

Целевая цена 23 739KZT за акцию, рекомендация Держать. Акции KZTK с июля 2017г. подорожали на 40% и, по нашей оценке, текущая цена справедливо отражает улучшение макроэкономических индикаторов экономики РК, хорошие финансовые результаты Компании и потенциал роста доходов СП. Стратегические планы Компании до 2025г, по наращиванию присутствия в ряде рыночных сегментов и сохранении главенствующего положения на рынке, относящемся к основной деятельности оператора, не предполагают экстенсивной экспансии способной сильно повысить ежегодную динамику доходов. Мы рекомендуем Держать акции KZTK с 12М ЦЦ 23 739 KZT/акция.

Другие отчеты