The State budget of the country - in the recovery phase

Assan KurmanbekovNovember 02, 2017

The State budget revenues in January-September this year (excluding National fund transfers) grew by 8.2% yoy to T5 trillion due to an increased tax revenue at 11.2% yoy and lower non-tax revenues. 

The State budget revenues in January-September this year (excluding National fund transfers) grew by 8.2% yoy to T5 trillion due to an increased tax revenue at 11.2% yoy and lower non-tax revenues. Tax revenues collection amounted to 70% of the annual plan, which corresponds to the normal value for this period. The National fund transfers due to an additional allocation of T1 trillion on improvement of banks and faster use (86.6% for 9M2017 vs 52.6% 2017 for 9M 2016) doubled to T4 trillion. The breakdown by tax revenues demonstrate the rise: for CIT +10.5% yoy, for individual income tax +7.9% yoy, social tax +9% yoy, VAT +2.7% yoy, with receipts of VAT on goods and services produced in Kazakhstan down by almost 22% and VAT from import up by 17% yoy.

 12eng_original.png

The increase of revenues for individual income and social tax is accompanied by a rise in nominal wages in the economy by 7.6% yoy in the first half of 2017. Revenue growth of 17% for VAT is comparable to the increase in imports at 9.7% yoy in January-August of 2017.

Receipts of VAT on goods and services produced in Kazakhstan by nearly 22% yoy is not matching the growth of retail trade turnover at 16% yoy for 9M this year. In part, the difference is due to the high proportion of imports in retail trade turnover, on the other hand, it might indicate an overvaluation of retail sales growth given the high share of trade realized through bazaars and IE.

Corporate income tax receipts is secured by activity in the economy, in our assessment, the growth of nominal GDP for 9 months of this year amounted to 8%. Also, the Ministry of Finance have noted improvements in tax and customs administration, in particular, the 98% of all taxes have been paid without imposing administrative penalties.

Improvement of oil prices by 24% yoy in January-September this year and the increase of the export customs duty on oil had a positive impact on the flow of oil revenues that grew by 30.6% yoy. Currently, the share of oil revenues in the consolidated revenues of the State budget has increased to 41%, from 34% in Jan-Sep 2016. While non-oil revenues even decreased by 3.6% yoy, reflecting a weaker recovery of non-oil sector of the economy. It should be noted that the growth of tax revenues was offset by a decline in non-tax revenues, in particular other non-tax revenues item (T160 billion for 9M2016 vs T18 billion for 9M2017)

The State budget expenditures increased by 11% yoy to T7.3 trillion for 9M2017 (excluding T2.1 trillion to Fund of non-performing loans) as compared to the same period last year. According to the plan costs for the year amounted to 70%.

 34eng_original.png

The spending on education, health and culture in January-September 2017 increased by about 15% compared with the same period of the previous year and is in line with the annual plan. It should be noted that the costs of these articles correspond to one third of all costs of the State budget.

Expenditure on social security increased by 15% yoy, partly because of the increase in pensions, which provided growth at a level of up to 28%. Due to an increase of pensions the decline in real wages is partially offset while staying in the negative zone since 2015. At the same time, this creates the ground for faster growth in prices  

Financing of public services such as defense, public order and other services increased approximately by 7% yoy with a slight lag from the plan for this year.

A strong growth of 30% remains on costs for financing the economy including items: agriculture (68% of planned; 66% in 2016), infrastructure (60% of planned; 64% in 2016), industry, housing and communal services (66% of planned; 60% in 2016) etc. Based on the schedule from the plan and given that the highest weight of expenditures is allocated in infrastructure and housing, we see about adequate growth. Major areas are transport and housing sphere, due to the implementation of the State program "Nurly Zhol. The implementation of this program, starting from 2015 averaged almost half a trillion tenge per year, in 2018 approximately T400 billion is planned to be spent on the program.

Under the item of debt servicing, costs have decreased by about 12% yoy. This apparently influenced by the strengthening of tenge in the first half of this year, given that more than a third of the State debt accounts for external loans.

Under the budget category "budget credits", expenses have increased by 38% yoy. The main article is crediting of Agrarian Credit Corporation to support agricultural producers (T60, billion) and lending to Baiterek amounting to T116 billion for various State programs. Small amounts are also allocated to enterprise development and employment.

By budget category "financial assets acquisition" costs increased by 55% yoy. T132 billion was directed to the capital injection to State-owned companies in the space, military, infrastructure and finance.

The State budget deficit (excluding the National Fund) for the first nine months of 2017 reached T1.1 trillion, while T1.5 trillion is planned for the year as a whole. The size of the public debt for 9 months of the year increased slightly by 1pp yoy to 26% of the country's GDP.

The consolidated balance of the State budget (taking into account the National Fund) moderately worsened to -5.7% of GDP, from -5.2% of GDP in 2016. According to our estimates, the general government deficit would reach 7% of GDP in the current year. As it is already noted, a significant budget outflow this year stemmed from a one-off allocation of T2.1 trillion to the banking system, without this amount the size of the deficit could potentially have fallen to more acceptable 3% of GDP.

The non-oil budget deficit (excluding T2.1 trillion to non-performing loans fund) in January-September of 2017 rose to 9.6% of GDP from 8.4% of GDP in the same period of 2016.

The National fund revenues in January-September of 2017 were up by 33% yoy to 1.5 trillion.  Growth is ensured by an  CIT inflows by 33% yoy,  MET +167% yoy, other taxes + 58% yoy, with a decrease in non-tax inflows by 56% yoy. If proceeds of CIT is consistent with rising prices and volumes of oil production, the strong growth in MET is probably associated with a large one-time payment, in particular for January when 60% of the amount of income for 9 months of the current year received.

The use of funds of the National Fund has reached T3.9 trillion in January-September of 2017. The total for the year plan stands at T4.4 trillion. The following year, the size of the transfer from the National Fund is reduced to T2.6 trillion, and later cut to T2 trillion a year from 2020 on, thus the current year should be the final in a series of escalating use of its funds for anti-crisis measures of the Government.

 Безqqq_original.png

Our opinion

As does the statistics on economy, the data on budget income indicates a weaker restoration of non-commodity sector. The effect of rising prices for raw materials virtually disappears in the last quarter of 2017, if its growth will not materialize, particularly for oil prices. The budget expenses are a little ahead of incomes, which is reflected in the increase in the deficit.

The increase in non-oil deficit without adequate growth of non-oil revenues, in our view, is a negative development, contributing to the unbalanced state of the budget.  

In the coming years, the Government plans to substantially reduce the use of funds of the National Fund and reduce dependence on oil revenues. However, until now the preconditions for the successful implementation of such a plan are not visible.

Состояние госбюджета страны - пока в фазе восстановления

Асан Курманбеков 02 Ноября 2017

Доходы государственного бюджета в январе-сентябре этого года (без учета трансфертов Нацфонда) выросли на 8,2% г/г до Т5 трлн.

Доходы государственного бюджета в январе-сентябре этого года (без учета трансфертов Нацфонда) выросли на 8,2% г/г до Т5 трлн, благодаря повышению налоговых поступлений на 11,2% и снижению неналоговых поступлений. Исполнение по налоговым поступлениям составило 70% к годовому плану, что соответствует нормальному значению для данного периода. Трансферты Нацфонда из-за выделения Т1 трлн на оздоровление банков и опережающего использования (86,6% за 9М 2017г. vs 52,6% за 9М 2016г.) увеличились вдвое до Т4 трлн. В разбивке по налоговым поступлениям наблюдается рост по КПН +10,5% г/г, ИПН +7,9% г/г, социальный налог +9% г/г, НДС +2,7% г/г, при этом поступления НДС на товары и услуги, произведенные в РК упали почти на 22% г/г, а по импорту рост на 17% г/г. 

12_original.png

Увеличение поступлений по ИПН и соцналогу сопровождается ростом номинальной оплаты труда в экономике на 7,6% г/г по данным за 1 полугодие 2017 года. Рост поступлений по НДС на 17% сопоставим с повышением импорта на 9,7% г/г за январь-август 2017 года.

Поступления НДС на товары и услуги, произведенные в РК почти на 22% г/г идет в разрез с ростом оборота розничной торговли на 16% г/г за 9М этого года. Отчасти данное расхождение объясняется значительной долей импорта в обороте розницы, с другой стороны может свидетельствовать о завышенном росте торговли учитывая высокую долю приходящуюся на реализацию через базары и ИП.

Поступления по корпоративному подоходному налогу обеспеченно повышением деловой активности в экономике, по нашей оценке, рост номинального ВВП за 9 месяцев этого года составил 8%. Также в Минфине РК отмечают улучшение налогового и таможенного администрирования, в частности 98% всех налогов было уплачено без применения административных мер взыскания.  

Повышение нефтяных котировок на 24% г/г в январе-сентябре этого года и увеличение экспортной таможенной пошлины на нефть положительно отразилось на поступлении нефтяных доходов, повысившихся на 30,6% г/г. Одновременно доля нефтяных доходов в консолидированных доходах госбюджета повысилась до 41%, с 34% в янв-сен 2016 г. Тогда как, ненефтяные доходы даже снизились на 3,6% г/г, что свидетельствует о слабом восстановлении несырьевого сектора экономики. Отметим, что рост налоговых поступлений был нивелирован снижением неналоговых поступлений, в частности по статье прочие неналоговые поступления (Т160 млрд за 9М2016 vs Т18 млрд за 9М2017).

Затраты госбюджета за 9М2017 года повысились на 11% до Т7,3 трлн (без учета Т2,1 трлн для Фонда проблемных кредитов) относительно показателей аналогичного периода прошлого года. Исполнение расходов к плану на год составило 70%. 

 34_original.png

Расходы на образование, здравоохранение и культуру за январь-сентябрь 2017 г. увеличились примерно на 15% в сравнении с аналогичным периодом прошлого года и соответствовали графику освоения годового плана. Отметим, что расходы на данные статьи соответствуют трети от всех затрат госбюджета.

Расходы на соцобеспечение увеличились на 15% г/г, в том числе, ввиду повышения пенсий, рост которых предусматривается на уровне до 28%. Благодаря повышению пенсий нивелируется спад реальных зарплат занятого населения, находящихся в отрицательной зоне с 2015 года и оказывается благоприятное влияние на потребительский рынок. В тоже время, это создает почву для ускорения роста цен.

Финансирование государственных услуг, включающих оборону, общественный порядок и другие выросло примерно на 7% г/г с незначительным отставанием от плана на этот год.

Сохраняется сильный рост на 30% по затратам на экономику включающие такие статьи, как: сельское хозяйство (исполнение 68%; в 2016 г. 66%), инфраструктура (исполнение 60%; в 2016 г. 64%), промышленность, жилищно-коммунальное хозяйство (исполнение 66%; в 2016 г. 60%) и др. Исходя из графиков исполнения от плана и учитывая наиболее высокий вес инфраструктуры и ЖКХ в расходах, можно говорить о адекватном росте данных затрат. Наиболее крупные статьи представлены сферами транспорта и ЖКХ, что обусловлено в том числе реализацией госпрограммы «Нурлы Жол». На реализацию данной программы с 2015 года в среднем в год выделялось почти полтриллиона тенге, на 2018 год запланировано примерно Т400 млрд.

По статье обслуживание долга затраты уменьшились примерно на 12% г/г. На это видимо повлияло укрепление тенге в первой половине этого года учитывая, что более трети государственного долга приходится на внешние займы.

По бюджетной категории «Бюджетные кредиты», затраты возросли на 38%. Основные статьи это кредитование Аграрной кредитной корпорации на поддержку агропроизводителей (Т60 млрд) и кредитование нацхолдинга Байтерек на сумму в Т116 млрд на реализацию различных госпрограмм. Небольшие суммы выделялись на развитие предпринимательства и занятости.

По бюджетной категории «Приобретение финансовых активов» затраты увеличились на 55% г/г. На Т132 млрд было произведено увеличение капиталов госкомпаний в космической, военной, инфраструктурной и финансовой сферах.

Дефицит госбюджета (без учета Нацфонда) по итогам девяти месяцев 2017 года достиг Т1,1 трлн, при запланированном -Т1,5 трлн за год в целом. Размер государственного долга за 9 месяцев 2017 года незначительно увеличился на 1пп г/г до 26% от ВВП страны.

Консолидированный баланс госбюджета страны (с учетом Нацфонда) умеренно ухудшился до -5,7% от ВВП, с -5,2% от ВВП в 2016 году. По нашим оценкам дефицит консолидированного бюджета достигнет 7% от ВВП в текущем году. Как уже отмечалось, значительные расходы госбюджета этого года обусловлены разовым выделением Т2,1 трлн банковской системе, без данной суммы размер дефицита потенциально мог опуститься до более приемлемых 3% от ВВП.  

Ненефтяной дефицит бюджета (без учета Т2,1 трлн для Фонда проблемных кредитов) в январе-сентябре 2017 года повысился до 9,6% от ВВП с 8,4% от ВВП в аналогичном периоде 2016 года.

Поступления в Нацфонд в январе-сентябре 2017 года повысились на 33% г/г до Т1,5 трлн.  Рост обеспечили поступления по КПН на 33% г/г, НДПИ +167% г/г, прочие налоги +58% г/г, при уменьшении неналоговых платежей на 56% г/г. Если, поступления по КПН хоть как-то согласуются с ростом цены и объемов нефтедобычи, то сильный рост по НДПИ вероятно связан с большой разовой выплатой, в частности за январь месяц поступило 60% от суммы поступлений за 9 месяцев текущего года.

Использование средств Нацфонда достигло Т3,9 трлн в январе-сентябре 2017 года. В целом за год планируется использование 4,4 трлн тенге из средств Нацфонда. В следующем году размер трансферта из Нацфонда уменьшается до Т2,6 трлн, а в дальнейшем сокращается до Т2 трлн в год с 2020 г, тем самым текущий год должен стать завершающим в череде наращивания использования его средств на антикризисные меры правительства.

 Без_original.png

Наше мнение

Как и статистика по экономике, данные по доходам госбюджета свидетельствуют о более слабом восстановлении несырьевого сектора. Эффект от роста цен на сырье практически исчезнет в последнем квартале 2017 года, если не усилится их рост и в особенности котировок на нефть. Расходы госбюджета немного опережали доходы, что отразилось на увеличении дефицита госбюджета.

Увеличение ненефтяного дефицита без адекватного роста несырьевых доходов на наш взгляд негативное явление, усугубляющее несбалансированное состояние госбюджета.

В ближайшие годы Правительство планирует существенно снизить использование средств Нацфонда и уменьшить зависимость от нефтяных доходов. Однако пока предпосылок для успешной реализации такого плана не видно.