KEGOC: 2016 and 1Q201 results review

Increase of 12M target price to T1 257, the "Hold" recommendation

Altynay IbraimovaJune 19, 2017

Given the neutral results of 2016 and strong production figures for 1Q2017 we have revised the target price for KEGOC shares. Long-term tariffs approved by the CRNMPC remain unchanged and ensure predictability of revenues, while forecasts of operating indicators for 2017 were revised upwards (+ 1p.p) taking into account the data of 1Q 2017, and forecasts of the Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Kazakhstan, which presume an increase in the volume of electricity production in the country by 2%. We raise our 12M target price to T 1257/share. However, considering overly valued shares, along with the debt load in the foreign currency, we maintain the "Hold" recommendation. 

Revenue of KEGOC for 2016 justified expectations. KEGOC`s last year revenues exceeded T 130bn, showing an increase of 18%, which was due to both the increase in tariffs (approved by CRNMPC) and the growth in the volume of services (Figure 4.). The volume of regulated services grew due to the general increase in the production and consumption of electricity in the wholesale market and the increase in interstate transit. As a result, the volumes of electricity generated from the regulated services justified our expectations, showing only a slight deviation.  However, due to the increase in the number of electricity suppliers for renewable energy sources, the company could cope to double the sales of purchased electricity. In addition, during 2016 the company reflected sales of power regulation services to a non-resident of Uzbekenergo and increased the volume of other services. As a result, the total income of KEGOC for 2016 came within our expectations (though, higher by 2%). 

Incurred expenses of KEGOC for 2016. With revenue growth of 18%, the cost of sales increased by only 5% to T 79bn, mainly due to high depreciation costs (28% of total cost). Excluding the cost of depreciation, the cost of production was T 57bn, increasing by 7% and coinciding with our forecast. At the same time, operating expenses doubled due to an increase in tax payments, wages and accrual of provision for doubtful debts. We expected a less rapid growth in operating costs - the operating margin was 25% instead of the expected 27%.

Volume of electricity. Our previous forecast assumed an increase in the volume of transmission services by 4%, dispatching by 1% and electricity balancing by 1.5% in 2017. At the same time, production data for 1Q 2017 exceeded our expectations, in connection with which we updated the forecast for the volume of services in the model, setting a higher growth rate for them (+ 1p.p).

Debt load. As of the end of 2016, 45% of KEGOC's liabilities were loaned to IBRD and EBRD (T 122bn), denominated in foreign currency. In January of this year, KEGOC paid ahead of schedule the EBRD loan, attracted in 2011, in the amount of $ 151.9 million for the implementation of the investment project "Reconstruction of VL 220kV CCPR - Osakarovka." Nevertheless, despite the sufficient liquidity reserve for timely repayment of debts, we believe that the debt load in the currency is a significant risk for the share price, as it will restrain the company's profitability.

Increase of 12M target price to T1 257, the "Hold" recommendation. We have revised the target price for KEGOC shares taking into account the results of 2016 and the results of 1Q 2017. Based on the production indicators 1Q of 2017 and the expected energy ministry of the Republic of Kazakhstan for a positive trend in electricity generation in 2017, we have changed the forecast of the volumes of regulated services. The marginal tariffs ensuring the predictability of revenues remained unchanged (there is no information on a possible revision of tariffs by CRNMPC). As a result, our 12M target price was T1 257/share. Since our last report, KEGOC shares have increased by 34% and reached the level of T1 399/share. Given the overvaluation of shares and the debt burden in foreign currency, we maintain the HOLD recommendation for KEGOC shares.

Other reports

KEGOC: Обзор результатов за 2016 г. и 1кв2017г.

Повышение 12М ЦЦ до Т1 257/акцию, рекомендация "Держать"

Учитывая нейтральные результаты за 2016г. и сильные производственные показатели за 1кв2017г. мы пересмотрели целевую цену по акциям КЕГОКа. Долгосрочные тарифы, утвержденные КРЕМ, остаются без изменений и обеспечивают предсказуемость доходов, тогда как прогнозы операционных показателей на 2017г. были пересмотрены в сторону повышения (+1п.п) с учетом данных 1кв2017г. и прогнозов Минэнерго РК, предполагающих рост объема выработки электроэнергии в стране на 2%. Мы повышаем нашу 12М целевую цену до Т1257/акцию. Однако, с учетом переоцененности акций наряду с долговой нагрузкой в валюте мы сохраняем рекомендацию «Держать».

Доходы КЕГОК за 2016г. оправдали ожидания. Выручка КЕГОК за прошлый год превысила Т130млрд, показав рост на 18%, что было обусловлено как повышением тарифов (утвержденных КРЕМ), так и ростом объемов услуг. Объем регулируемых услуг вырос в связи с общим повышением производства и потребления электроэнергии на оптовом рынке и увеличением межгосударственного транзита. В результате, объемы электроэнергии, генерируемые по регулируемым услугам, оправдали наши ожидания, показав лишь незначительное отклонение. Однако, за счет увеличения количества поставщиков электроэнергии по возобновляемым источникам энергии, Компании удалось вдвое нарастить продажи покупной электроэнергии. Кроме того, в течение 2016г. Компания отразила продажи услуг по регулированию мощности нерезиденту Узбекэнерго и увеличила объемы иных услуг. В итоге, общие доходы КЕГОК за 2016г. вышли в рамках наших ожиданий (выше на 2%).

Расходы КЕГОК за 2016г. При росте доходов на 18%, себестоимость реализации увеличилась всего на 5% и составила Т79млрд в основном, из-за высоких расходов на износ (28% себестоимости). Без учета расходов на износ себестоимость составила Т57млрд, увеличившись на 7% и совпав с нашим прогнозом.  В то же время, операционные расходы выросли вдвое за счет увеличения налоговых платежей, заработной платы и начисления резерва по сомнительной задолженности. Мы ожидали менее быстрый рост операционных затрат – маржа операционной прибыли составила 25% вместо ожидаемых нами 27%.

Объем электроэнергии. Наш прежний прогноз предполагал рост объемов услуг по передаче на 4%, диспетчеризации на 1% и балансированию электроэнергии на 1.5% в 2017г. При этом, производственные данные за 1кв2017г. превысили наши ожидания, в связи с чем мы обновили в модели прогноз по объемам услуг, заложив   более высокий темп прироста по ним (+1п.п). Наши ожидания подкреплены прогнозами Минэнерго РК, согласно которым объем выработки электроэнергии в 2017г. увеличится на 2% г/г. 

Долговая нагрузка. По состоянию на конец 2016г. 45% обязательств КЕГОК составляли займы перед МБРР и ЕБРР (Т122млрд), выраженные в иностранной валюте. В январе текущего года КЕГОК досрочно погасил заем ЕБРР, привлеченный в 2011г. в размере $151.9 млн для реализации инвестиционного проекта «Реконструкция ВЛ 220кВ ЦГПП – Осакаровка». Тем не менее, несмотря на достаточный запас ликвидности для своевременного погашения долгов, мы считаем, что долговая нагрузка в валюте выступает существенным риском для стоимости акций, поскольку будет сдерживать прибыльность компании.

Повышение 12М ЦЦ до Т1 257, рекомендация «Держать». Мы пересмотрели целевую цену по акциям КЕГОКа с учетом итогов 2016г. и результатов 1кв2017г. Исходя из производственных показателей 1кв2017г. и ожидаемой Минэнерго РК позитивной тенденции по выработке электроэнергии в 2017г., мы изменили прогноз объемов регулируемых услуг. Предельные тарифы остались без изменений (информации по возможному пересмотру тарифов КРЕМом не имеется). В итоге, наша 12М целевая цена составила Т1 257/акцию. С момента нашего последнего отчета акции КЕГОК выросли в цене на 34% и достигли уровня Т1 399/акцию. Учитывая переоцененность акций и долговую нагрузку в валюте, мы сохраняем рекомендацию «Держать» акции КЕГОК.

Для доступа к полной версии отчета загрузите PDF-версию

Другие отчеты