Kazakhtelecom: 2016YE results review

Dias KabyltayevMay 18, 2017

Kazakhtelecom reported mixed results in 2016. On the one hand, the Company demonstrated strong operating results, on the other the significant loss in Altel’s JV has not yet given us an optimism. We keep “Hold” recommendation and estimate our 12M TP at T16390 with 2.4% upside potential. 

Strong Operational results achieved in 2016. Kazakhtelecom demonstrated consolidated operational developments, by increasing operating profits 17% y/y. Consequences of escalated earnings by 8% y/y and decreased administrative expenses by 5% y/y were partially leveled by the growth of costs associated with providing services, which in turn surged 9% y/y in 2016. Considering major losses in joint stock with Altel and Tele2 that are amounted T 13.6 bn, which offset all positive effects of operating profit consolidation. In consequence, the net profit from continuing operating activities fell down by 43.5% y/y and accounted for only T 14.8 bn.

Altel, sole factor keeping growth pace. Considering substantial benefits from the merger of 4G network lines in Kazakhstan, we believe that joint enterprise of Altel and Tele2 has full capabilities and perspectives of achieving a higher number of users and synergy of operational outlays. Earlier we have discussed this joint enterprise on the matter of net profits expected in 2018, however, acknowledging weak financial quotations for 2016, we now expected to see lower growth rates and believe that company will only reach net profits to the year of 2022.

Low return on capital. As an additional burden to the prosperity of Kazakhtelecom, we see a low return on invested capital, which constitutes only 5.5% and still lower than the inflation rate in Kazakhstan by nearly 3%. This can be justified by small Р/В of 0.5, which 1.5 times lower that sector average. We mainly associate low returns on capital to an inability of the company to manipulate prices of its services, by some reasons.

Forecasts. In 2016, the company has continued to advance its revenues from services of data transmission, for the year passed, this indicator increased by 6% y/y. We expect further growth of this revenue streams as part of total revenues from 52% to 61% by 2020. Services such as IDhome and wide coverage of urban areas has to fuel profit-making process. Services of wire and wireless connection declined by 5% y/y. Substantially lower cost of internet connections and cell phones provide people with an alternative means of communication and in we expect a smooth decline in earnings from wired line services.

Target price of T 16390 per share, to be held. Operational cash flows of the company in 2016 appear to be strong and reliable, we forecast, stabilized growth of cash flows in the period 2017-2020 by 5% in average y/y. In this regard, negative development of key financial measures of Altel and Tele2 in mid-term time horizon, as well as high density of other means of telecommunication, constitute major constraining factors of Kazakhtelecom`s future growth. We recommend to held common shares of the company and we estimate the value of T 16390 per common share, which is 2.4% higher that it is traded on KASE.

Other reports

Казахтелеком: Обзор результатов за 2016 г.

Диас Кабылтаев18 Мая 2017

Казахтелеком отчитался о смешанных результатах за 2016 г. С одной стороны, Компания показала сильные операционные результаты, с другой стороны, значительный убыток совместного предприятия Altel и Tele2 пока не придает нам оптимизма. Мы сохраняем рекомендацию Держать простые акции Казахтелеком и оцениваем стоимость одной простой акции на уровне Т16390, на 2,4% выше текущей цены на KASE.

Сильные операционные результаты за 2016 г. Казахтелком продемонстрировал сильные операционные результаты, показав рост операционной прибыли на 17% г/г. Эффект от увеличения выручки на 8% г/г и снижения административных расходов на 5% г/г был частично нивелирован ростом себестоимости оказанных услуг, возросших на 9% г/г в 2016 г. При этом значительная доля в убытке совместного предприятия (Altel и Tele2) в размере 13,6 млрд. тенге свела к нулю позитивный эффект от наращивания операционной прибыли. Вследствие этого чистая прибыль от продолжающейся деятельности за год снизилась на 43,5% г/г и составила 14,8 млрд. тенге.

Altel — главный фактор сдерживания роста. По нашему мнению, учитывая значительное преимущество вследствие интеграции сетей 4G на территории РК, совместное предприятие Altel и Tele2 в среднесрочной перспективе имеет потенциал по наращиванию абонентской базы и синергии операционных расходов. Ранее мы ожидали выход совместного предприятия на чистую прибыль в 2018 г. Однако учитывая слабые финансовые показатели за 2016 г., мы закладываем более сдержанный рост ключевых показателей и прогнозируем выход совместного предприятия на чистую прибыль лишь в 2022 г.

Низкая доходность на капитал. Еще одной проблемой Компании является низкая доходность на капитал в размере 5,5% что ниже инфляции в РК в 2016 г. на 3%. Такой уровень возврата объясняет низкое значение P/B в размере 0,5, что в 1,5 раза ниже среднего по сектору - 2,76. Низкую доходность главным образом мы относим к неспособности Компании по ряду причин поднимать цены на свои услуги.

Прогнозы. В 2016 г. Компания продолжила наращивать выручку от услуг передачи данных, за год данный показатель вырос на 6% г/г. Мы прогнозируем дальнейший рост данной услуги в структуре доходов с 52% до 61% к 2020 г. Росту выручки будут способствовать пакетные предложения, такие как IDHome, и расширение покрытия интернетом среди сельского населения. Услуги проводной и беспроводной связи за год снизились на 5% г/г. Значительно более дешевая мобильная связь и интернет становятся альтернативой для стационарных телефонов, в связи с чем мы ожидаем плавного снижения доходов от проводной связи.

Целевая цена – Т16390 за акцию, Держать. Операционные денежные потоки Компании в 2016 г. выглядят солидно, мы прогнозируем их стабильный рост в периоде между 2017-2022 гг. в среднем на 5% г/г. При этом негативная динамика ключевых финансовых показателей Altel и Tele2 в среднесрочной перспективе и наличие высокой конкуренции среди альтернативных источников телекоммуникаций на сегодняшний день являются ключевыми факторами, сдерживающими рост стоимости Компании. Мы рекомендуем Держать простые акции Казахтелеком и оцениваем стоимость одной простой акции на уровне Т16390, на 2,4% выше текущей цены на KASE.

Другие отчеты