Nostrum Oil and Gas: Review of 1H2016 results

Decrease of 12M TP to GBp 315/share, recommendation "HOLD"

Altynay IbraimovaOctober 06, 2016

Due to the disappointing results of 1H2016, in particular, a revenue decrease by 40% (yoy) and obtaining loss on derivative financial instruments in 1H2016, we expect weak operational and financial results for 2016. We lower our 12М target price to GBp 315/GDR. At the same time, we believe that the company can increase production in line with the plan, up to 50 kboepd (+ 30%) in 2017. Considering the consensus forecast for oil prices of 50/barrel in 2017, we expect an improvement of operating and financial results of the Company, and therefore we maintain our “Hold” recommendation.

1H2016 financial results. Revenue decreased by 40% yoy to $163.4 mn, mainly due to the fall in the average price of Brent by 31% yoy. The production volume decreased by 12% yoy, which also weighed on results. The decline in revenue was partially offset by a decrease of general and administrative expenses by 23%, the finance costs by 9% and the selling and transportation expenses by 32%. At the same time, the main negative factor became a loss on derivative financial instruments, which ratio to revenues was 25% (1.4% in 1H2015). As a result, the Company recognized a net loss of $55.8 mn against a profit of 1H2015 in the amount of $15.2 mn.

1H2016 operational update. Average daily production declined by 12.1% yoy to 38.9 kboepd. The Company confirmed production plans for the end of 2016 of 40 kboepd. Completion of the GTU-3 (gas treatment facility) is still planned for 2017. Future cash payments for GTU-3 to the end of 1H2016 totaled $ 181 million, of which $ 93 million are planned before the end of 2016 and $ 88 million are planned in 2017.

Hedging contract. Loss on derivative financial instruments of $40.7 mn put significant pressure on results. The Company recorded this loss as a result of oil price hedging under $49.16. However, the put option at the end of 1H2016 was not implemented. Excluding the loss on derivatives, the Company's net loss was $15.1 mn, 73% below the actual net loss of $55.8 mn. In our opinion, the nature of the loss on financial derivative instruments is insufficiently transparent. Consequently, we do not expect changes in the amount of loss on the hedging contract in the FY2016 results.

Low oil prices and current debt burden as a restraining factor. Total debt remains at $960 mn and net debt of approximately $845 mn. According to our forecasts, the ratio of net debt to EBITDA at the end of the current year will amount to 5,5x. The impact of low oil prices is more significant given relatively modest scale of production activities (production of 40 kboepd).

Decrease of 12M target price to 315 GBp/GDR. Based on the weak 1H2016 results due to low oil prices which influenced production growth and financial performance, we decrease our 12M target price to GBp315/GDR while maintaining our «Hold» recommendation.

Other reports

Nostrum Oil and Gas: Обзор результатов за 1П2016 г.

Снижение 12М ЦЦ до GBp315/акцию, рекомендация "Держать"

Алтынай Ибраимова06 Октября 2016

В связи с неутешительными результатами 1П2016 г., в частности, снижением выручки на 40% (г/г) и получением внушительного убытка по производным финансовым инструментам в 1П2016 г.  мы ожидаем слабые операционные и финансовые результаты по итогам 2016 г. и снижаем нашу 12М целевую цену до GBp315/ГДР. При этом, мы считаем, что Компании удастся согласно плану увеличить объемы добычи до 50 тыс. бнэд (+30%) к 2017 г. и при консенсус прогнозе цены на нефть в 50/баррель в 2017 г. мы ожидаем улучшения операционных и финансовых показателей Компании, в связи с чем сохраняем рекомендацию «Держать». 

Финансовые результаты за 1П2016 г. Выручка снизилась на 40% г/г до $163,4млн, в основном за счет падения средней цены на нефть Brent на 31% (г/г). Объем добычи сократился на 12% (г/г), что также оказало давление на результаты. Снижение доходов было частично компенсировано сокращением общих и административных расходов на 23%, финансовых затрат на 9% и расходов на реализацию и транспортировку на 32%. При этом, основным негативным фактором выступил убыток по производным финансовым инструментам, отношение которого к выручке составило 25% (1,4% в 1П2015 г.). В итоге, Компания признала чистый убыток в размере $55,8млн против прибыли в 1П2015 г. в размере $15,2млн.

Текущая операционная деятельность за 1П2016 г. Среднесуточная добыча снизилась на 12,1% г/г до 38,9 тыс. бнэс. Компания подтвердила планы добычи по итогам 2016 г. на уровне 40 тыс. бнэс. Завершение строительства УПГ-3 по-прежнему остается запланированным на 2017 г. Будущие денежные платежи для УПГ3 на конец 1П2016 г. составляют $181 млн, из которых $93 млн запланированы до конца 2016 г. и $88 млн планируются в 2017 г.

Контракт на хеджирование. Значительное давление на результаты оказал убыток по производным финансовым инструментам в размере $40,7млн, отражаемый Компанией как результат хеджирования цены на нефть ниже $49,16. При этом, пут опцион, купленный в рамках договора хеджирования, на конец 1П2016 г. не реализован и без учета убытка по деривативам, чистый убыток Компании составляет $15,1 млн, что ниже на 73% фактического чистого убытка в $55,8млн. По итогам 2016 г. мы не ожидаем изменений размера убытка по контракту хеджирования, поскольку природа данного убытка недостаточно транспарентная.

Низкие цены на нефть и текущая долговая нагрузка как сдерживающие факторы роста. Общая задолженность остается на уровне $960 млн и чистый долг – около $845 млн (Долг/EBITDA на конец 2016 г. ожидается на уровне 5,5х). Влияние низких цен на нефть более ощутимо при относительно скромных масштабах производственной деятельности (добыча на уровне 40 тыс. бнэс).

Снижение 12М ЦЦ до 315 GBp. На основании слабых результатов 1П2016 из-за низких цен на нефть, оказывающих ключевое влияние на рост объемов добычи и финансовые показатели 1П2016 г., мы снижаем нашу 12М ЦЦ до 315GBp/ГДР, сохраняя рекомендацию «Держать».

Для доступа к полной версии отчета скачайте PDF-версию.

Другие отчеты